Can design change society? / Kann Gestaltung Gesellschaft verändern?

Exhibition / Can design change society? / Berlin

In the framework of “projekt bauhaus” and alongside the international symposium ‘Can design change society?’ (September 18–19, 2015), a pop-up exhibition at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt in Berlin will showcase SMAQ’s “Charter of Dubai” together with 24 other project prototypes centred on the theme. Classical modernism – the Bauhaus in particular – stands [more]

02/09/2015

IABR 2014 Logo

Exhibition / International Architecture Biennale IABR-2014 / Rotterdam

The International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam IABR-2014, curated by Dirk Sijmons, presents under the theme “Urban by Nature” in the section “Urban Metabolism” SMAQ´s project “Rainmaker – A City Generating Rain” which was conceived for the metropolitain region of Casablanca, Morocco.

28/05/2014

Exhibition / Arab Contemporary / Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Denmark

ARAB CONTEMPORARY is the second chapter in the series “Architecture, Culture and Identity” at the Louisiana Museum of Modern Art, Denmark. The exhibition takes the visitor to old Yemenite civilizations and new cities like Dubai and new architectural projects that relate to the desert as place. It shows SMAQ’s proposal Ex-Palm for the transformation of Palm [more]

30/01/2014

Post-Oil City in Yokohama

Exhibition / Post-Oil City / Tokyo

Today more than half of the world’s population lives in cities. Facing climate change and finite supplies of fossil fuels, therefore, also means facing urban challenges. The exhibition “Post-Oil City: The History of the City’s Future” presents a host of innovative city planning projects in Asia, Africa, and the Americas. The exhibition has been produced [more]

08/09/2011

Exhibition / Post-Oil City / Zurich

Sorry, this entry is only available in Deutsch.

25/05/2011

Exhibition / Concrete Geometrie / AA London

The exhibition “Concrete Geometries” at Architectural Association (AA) in London presents among others SMAQs Charter of Dubai. The twenty projects in the exhibition investigating how geometric aspects of space such as size, shape or relative position of figures are perceived and influence behavior, not in an abstract but very real sense.

20/04/2011

Exhibition / Matrix City / Utrecht, Netherlands

By bringing together artworks and practices that point to overlapping trajectories within the contemporary urban landscape, this year Matrix City exhibition ‘Opportunities of Entanglement’ speaks about ambivalences between entanglement (or even enslavement) and the next playful ‘liberation of mankind’. The exhibition touches upon the shelf life or expiration date of contemporary concepts of the city; [more]

01/10/2010

Cover

Internationale Bauausstellung Stadtumbau Sachsen-Anhalt 2010

Science Quarter Magdeburg

13/02/2010

Exhibition / Post-Oil City / Stuttgart

28/01/2010

Exhibition / Urban Miracles / Bludenz, Austria

Remise Bludenz, 2010.   All utopias are depressing, because they leave no room for chance, for difference, for the “miscellaneous”. Everything has been set in order and order reigns. Behind every utopia there is always some great taxonomic design: a place for each thing and each thing in its place. (Georges Perec, Species of Spaces [more]

07/01/2010

IABR Logo

International Architecture Biennale Rotterdam presents SMAQ

The fourth edition of the International Architecture Biennale in Rotterdam (IABR) with the theme “Open City – Designing Coexistence”, curated by Kees Christiaanse, presents SMAQ´s manifesto “The Charta of Dubai” and its application: “X-Palm” as part of the exhibition REFUGE, sub-curated by Philipp Misselwitz and Can Altay, at the Netherlands Architecture Institute (NAi).

01/09/2009

Invitation

SMAQ Exhibition / German Center for Architecture DAZ / Berlin

GLASHAUS_10, a series by the German Center for Architecture DAZ in Berlin, is presenting SMAQ and their work in a solo exhibition with the title Environment – Umwelten.

01/10/2008

Venice Architecture Biennale presents SMAQ

Two of SMAQ’s projects are featured at the Venice Biennale, 11th International Architecture Exhibition Out There – Architecture Beyond Building curated by Aaron Betsky. The Cosy Chair designed for Droog Desing is on show in the S1NGLETOWN Exhibition curated by Droog and KesselsKramer from September 14th to November 23rd 2008. The project Cumulus for Oslo, [more]

01/09/2008

Cosy Chair

Salone del Mobile in Milan presents Cosy Chair

During the Salone del Mobile 2008 in Milan SMAQ’s Cosy Chair designed for Droog Design is on display at the Fondazione Antonio Mazzotta. A touch of Green In the footsteps of scientific researchers and opinion leaders, designers and manufacturers are also claiming sustainability. Droog has always focused on the mental or human side of product [more]

01/04/2008

Call me now! - Maison de Communication, D.R. Congo

Exhibition / Post-it City. Occasional Urbanities / Barcelona

In the framework of the exhibition “Post-it City. Occasional Urbanities” the CCCB – Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona presents  SMAQ’s project “Call me now!” that explores alternatives uses of the mobile phone and its consequences in the capitals Brazzaville and Kinshasa in the Republic and the D.R. Congo. Post-it City looks at different overlapping [more]

01/03/2008

Exhibition / Ah CA va bien / MAK Los Angeles

The Los Angeles branche of the Museum of Applied Arts in Vienna MAK Center for Art Architecture presents SMAQ’s project LA Water in the exhibtion Ah CA va bien. For their project, SMAQ investigated a Los Angeles dichotomy: How so dry a place has come to be known for a wet lifestyle of green lawns [more]

Schkreutz City Map

Exhibition / Shrinking Cities / German Architecture Museum DAM / Frankfurt

The DAM (Deutsches Architekturmuseum) in Frankfurt is presenting the exhibition Shrinking Cities: Nine Urban Ideas. Besides more than 20 other projects by contemporay architects it feature SMAQ’s project Schkreutz. City Map. 1st Edition. Shrinking Cities: Nine Urban Ideas In the 1990s, more than a quarter of the world’s big cities shrank, and their number continues [more]

01/12/2007

FollyDOCK Invitation

FollyDOCK EXPO / Rotterdam

SMAQ’s folly BAD(bath) – water folly on the dock was selected from an international competition with some other twenty designs for building in Heijplaat, Rotterdam. During the FollyDOCK Expo it is open for public viewing. FollyDOCK Expo is part of Rotterdam 2007 City of Architecture. FollyDOCK is an international competition for artists, designers and architects. [more]

01/05/2007

Searching for an Ideal Urbanity

Exhibition / Searching for an Ideal Urbanity / Stuttgart

Among others the exhibition Searching for an Ideal Urbanity at Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart is presenting the project Call me now! by SMAQ supported by From/To Europe that is based on the research of moblie phones in Brazzaville and Kinshasa. When the French philosopher Henri Lefebvre criticized urbanism as an authoritarian and immediately-antiquated controlling [more]

01/03/2007

Génération Europan

Exhibition / Génération Europan / Paris

Génération Europan recalls 20 years of Europan competitions, which since its creation made emerge on the European scene young talents in the fields of architecture and the urban design. In the course of the eight sessions, 430 sites were proposed with the reflexion of approximately 40.000 young designers gathered in 15.000 teams. The juries of [more]

Barkin-Exhibition_Shedhalle+Solitude_01

Exhibition / From/To Europe #3 / Shedhalle Zurich

The Shedhalle in Zurich is presenting SMAQ’s research Mobile Kinshasa as part of the exhibtion From/To Europe #3 Roaming Around – Digital Devide, Regional Codes, Copy/South & the Question of Access.

01/11/2006

FollyDock Invitation

Exhibition / FollyDOCK / NAi Rotterdam

In an international competition with 398 entries SMAQ’s project “Water Folly on the Dock” was selected as one of the eleven best entries. The exhibition FollyDOCK in the Netherlands Architecture Institute (NAi) in Rotterdam presents SMAQ’s project with 44 other selected entries.   Exhibition: June 24 – September 24, 2006 Opening Hours: Tuesdays to Saturdays [more]

01/06/2006

Schrumpfende Städte

Exhibition / Shrinking Cities – Interventions / Leipzig

The second Shrinking Cities exhibition “Shrinking Cities – Intervention” in the Gallery for Contemporary Art in Leipzig, Germany and the related book “Shrinking Cities, Volume 2: Interventions” both feature SMAQ’s project “Schkreutz. City Map. 1st Edition” commissioned by the Bauhaus Dessau.

01/11/2005

exhibition / Creative immigration in NL / Amsterdam

The ABC Architectuurcentrum in Haarlem, Netherlands is presenting the exhibition “Creative immigration in NL – Typical NL architecture by NO NL architects”. The exhibition includes, amongst others, four of SMAQ’s projects and related products. The exposition shows a selection of design professionals in Holland: architects and graphic designers. None of them has from origin a [more]

01/06/2005

Suburban Living Room

SMAQ Exhibition / Suburban Living Room / Stuttgart

The installation “Suburban Living Room” thematizes, in the context of the Weissenhof housing development (Mies van der Rohe) inStuttgart, the change of living towards an intersection of infrastructure and the leisure landscape. Whereas modernity was striving for the opening of the interior to the exterior, the ideal of suburban living today, in an age that [more]

Exhibition_Blauraum

SMAQ Exhibition / Hamburg, Germany

The Salon Blauraum in Hamburg, Germany is presenting SMAQ’s exhibition “Architectures for the Infrastructural Leisure Landscape”. The three projects presented are architectural maneuvers that develop strategies of embracement, negotiation and adaptation to activate, take advantage and authenticate the contemporary landscape. The exhibition is supported by the Netherlands Foundation for Visual Arts, Design and Architecture. What [more]

01/04/2005

Ausstellung / Det Arabiske Nu / Louisiana Museum für Moderne Kunst, Dänemark

DET ARABISKE NU ist die zweite Ausstellung in der Reihe “Architecture, Culture and Identity” im Louisiana Museum für moderne Kunst bei Kopenhagen. Die Ausstellung führt den Besucher zu alten jemenitischen Zivilizationen und neuen Städten wie Dubai sowie neuen architektonischen Projekten, die sich auf die Wüste als Ort beziehen. Die Ausstellung zeigt unter anderem SMAQs Vorschlag [mehr]

30/01/2014

Post-Oil City in Yokohama

Ausstellung / Post-Oil City / Tokio

Mehr als die Hälfte der Weltbevölkerung lebt heute in Städten. Lösungsvorschläge für den Umgang mit den Folgen des Klimawandels und dem absehbaren Ende fossiler Brennstoffe müssen deshalb bei urbanen Problemen ansetzen. Mit der Ausstellung “Post-Oil City – Die Geschichte der Zukunft der Stadt” stellt das Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen (ifa) innovative städtebauliche Projekte in Asien, Afrika [mehr]

08/09/2011

Ausstellung / Post-Oil City / Zürich

Wie erreichen wir ein nachhaltiges Wachstum? Welche Änderungen stehen uns bevor? Und wie sieht die Stadt der Zukunft aus? Diesen und anderen Fragen widmet sich der vierte Energiesalon 2011 in Zürich. In diesem Kontext präsentiert das Architekturforum Zürich vom 26. Mai bis am 16. Juli 2011 die von ARCH+ für das Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen kuratierte [mehr]

25/05/2011

Ausstellung / Concrete Geometries / AA London

Die Ausstellung “Concrete Geometries” an der Architectural Association (AA) in London präsentiert unter anderem SMAQs Charter of Dubai. Die 20 Projekte in der Ausstellung untersuchen wie geometrische Aspekte des Raums wie Größe, Form oder die Positionierung von Objekten wahrgenommen werden und das Verhalten beeinflussen, nicht im abstrakten, sondern ganz konkret.

20/04/2011

Ausstellung / Matrix City / Utrecht

Die diesjährige Matrix City Ausstellung ‘Opportunities of Entanglement’spricht über die Ambivalenz zwischen dem Verfangen (oder sogar der Versklavung) und der nächsten spielerischen ‘Befreiung der Menschheit’. Die Ausstellung setzt beim Verfallsdatum zeitgenössischer Konzepte der Stadt an; manchmal schwer zu begreifen im gegenwärtigen Boom urbaner und metropolitaner Territorien, doch mit einer langen und wiederkehrenden Gründung in der [mehr]

01/10/2010

Cover

Internationale Bauausstellung Stadtumbau Sachsen-Anhalt 2010

Wissenschaftsquartier Magdeburg

13/02/2010

Ausstellung / Post-Oil City / Stuttgart

28/01/2010

Ausstellung / Urbane Wunder / Bludenz

Wer glaubt denn heute noch an Wunder? Und was sind “urbane Wunder”? – Diesen Fragen geht die Ausstellung “Urbane Wunder” nach, und hat dazu KünstlerInnen/ UrbanistInnen/ ArchitektInnen/ KulturproduzentInnen aus verschiedenen kulturellen Kontexten eingeladen, ihre persönlichen Erfahrungen und Beispiele von Wundern, die sich im öffentlich-urbanen und gesellschaftspolitischen Raum abspielen, zu zeigen. Welche Beharrlichkeit, Mut, Frechheit, Verzweiflung [mehr]

07/01/2010

IABR Logo

Internationale Architektur Biennale Rotterdam präsentiert SMAQ

Die vierte Ausgabe der Internationalen Architektur Biennale in Rotterdam (IABR) mit dem Thema”Open City – Designing Coexistence”, kuratiert von Kees Christiaanse, präsentiert SMAQs “Charta von Dubai” und deren beispielhafte Anwendung: “X-Palm” als Teil der Ausstellung REFUGE, co-kuratiert  von Philipp Misselwitz und Can Altay, im Niederländischen Architektur Institute (NAi).

01/09/2009

Invitation

SMAQ Ausstellung / Deutsches Architektur Zentrum DAZ / Berlin

GLASHAUS_10, eine Reihe des Deutschen Architektur Zentrum DAZ in Berlin, präsentiert SMAQ in einer Einzelausstellung. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung GLASHAUS_10, die vom 17. Oktober bis zum 12. Dezember 2008 im DAZ zu sehen ist, zeigen SMAQ unter dem Titel „ENVIRONMENT – UMWELTEN“ in Form einer abstrakten Landschaft die Orte und den Kontext von vier verschiedenen [mehr]

01/10/2008

Architekturbiennale Venedig präsentiert SMAQ

Im Rahmen der 11. Internationalen Architektur Biennale in Venedig “Out There – Architecture Beyond Building”, kuratiert von Aaron Betzky, werden zwei Projekte von SMAQ präsentiert. Der Cosy Chair, entworfen für Droog Design, wird im Rahmen der Ausstellung S1NGLETOWN, kuratiert von Droog und KesselsKramer, wird vom 14. September bis 23. November zusehen sein. Das Projekt Cumulus [mehr]

01/09/2008

Cosy Chair

Salone del Mobile in Mailand präsentiert Cosy Chair

Während des Salone del Mobile 2008 in Milan wir der von SMAQ für Droog Design entworfenen Cosy Chair in der Fondazione Antonio Mazzotta zu sehen sein.

01/04/2008

Call me now! - Maison de Communication, D.R. Congo

Ausstellung / Post-it City. Occasional Urbanities / Barcelona

Im Rahmen der Ausstellung “Post-it City. Occasional Urbanities” zeigt das CCCB – Centre de Cultura Contemporània de Barcelona  SMAQs Projekt “Call me now!”. Es lotet alternative Nutzungsmöglichkeiten der Mobiltelephonie und deren Konsequenzen in den afrikanischen Metropolen Brazzaville und Kinshasa, Republik bzw. Demokratische Republik Kongo, aus.   Die Ausstellung “Post-it City” zeigt Arbeiten von Teddy Cruz [mehr]

01/03/2008

Ausstellung / Ah CA va bien / MAK Los Angeles

Das MAK Center for Art Architecture in Los Angeles, eine Dependance des Museums für Angewandte Kunst in Wien, präsentiert SMAQs Projekt “LA in Terms of Water” im Rahmen der Ausstellung “Ah CA va bien”. Das Projekt stellt die Frage, wie ein so trockener Ort wie Los Angeles bekannt werden konnte für seinen feuchten Lebensstil des [mehr]

Schkreutz City Map

Ausstellung / Schrumpfende Städte / Deutsche Architekturmuseum DAM / Frankfurt

Das Deutsches Architekturmuseum DAM in Frankfurt am Main präsentiert die Ausstellung “Schrumpfende Städte – Neun Stadtideen”. Neben mehr als 20 anderen Projekten von zeitgenössischen Architekten, Künstlern, Kultur- und Sozialwissenschaftlern wird in der Ausstellung SMAQs Projekt “Schkreutz. City Map. 1st Edition” gezeigt.   Schrumpfende Städte – Neun Stadtideen Auf Basis von neun Stadtideen wird der Frage nachgegangen, [mehr]

01/12/2007

FollyDOCK Invitation

FollyDOCK EXPO / Rotterdam

SMAQs Folly “BAD(bath) – water folly on the dock” wurde im Rahmen eines internationalen Wettbewerb mit ca. 20 anderen Entwürfen ausgewählt, um in Heijplaat, Rotterdam gebaut zu werden. Während FollyDOCK Expo kann es nun genutzt werden. FollyDOCK Expo ist von Rotterdam 2007 City of Architecture. FollyDOCK ist ein internationaler Wettbewerb für Künstler, Desinger und Architekten. [mehr]

01/05/2007

Searching for an Ideal Urbanity

Ausstellung / Auf der Suche nach einer Idealen Urbanität / Stuttgart

Zusammen mit anderen Arbeiten präsentiert die Ausstellung “Auf der Suche nach einer idealen Urbanität” an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart  das Projekt “Call me now!” von SMAQ mit Unterstützung von From/To Europe. Das Projekt basiert Stadtforschung zur Mobiltelephonie in den afrikanischen Metropolen Brazzaville und Kinshasa.

01/03/2007

Génération Europan

Ausstellung / Génération Europan / Paris

Die Ausstellung Génération Europan lässt 20 Jahre Europan Wettbewerbe revue passieren, die seit ihrer Entstehung starken Einfluss auf die europäische Szene junger Talente im Feld von Architektur und Städtebau gehabt hat. Im Verlauf von acht Durchgängen, wurden 430 Grundstücke von ungefähr 40.000 jungen Entwerfen in ca. 15.000 Teams bearbeitet. Die Juries der Wettbewerb vergaben Preise [mehr]

Barkin-Exhibition_Shedhalle+Solitude_01

Ausstellung / From/To Europe #3 / Shedhalle Zürich

Die Shedhalle in Zürich präsentiert SMAQs Stadtuntersuchung “Mobile Kinshasa” als Teil der Ausstellung “From/To Europe #3 Roaming Around – Digital Devide, Regional Codes, Copy/South & the Question of Access”.

01/11/2006

FollyDock Invitation

Ausstellung / FollyDOCK / NAi Rotterdam

Im Rahmen eines interantionalen Wettbewerbs mit 398 Einreichungen SMAQs Projekt “Water Folly on the Dock” wurde als eins von elf Projekten ausgewählt. Die Ausstellung FollyDOCK im Niederländischen Architektur Institut (NAi) in Rotterdam zeigt nun SMAQs Projekt mit 44 weiteren ausgewählten Projekten.

01/06/2006

Schrumpfende Städte

Ausstellung / Schrumpfende Städte – Interventionen / Leipzig

Die Ausstellung “Schrumpfende Städte – Interventionen” in der Galerie für zeitgenössische Kunst in Leipzig zeigt SMAQs Projekt “Schkreutz. Stadtplan. 1. Auflage”. Das Projekt ist auch Teil des gleichzeitig erscheinenden Buchs “Schrumpfende Städte, Band 2: Interventionen”.

01/11/2005

Ausstellung / Creative immigration in NL / Amsterdam

Das ABC Architekturzentrum in Haarlem in den Niederlanden präsentiert die Ausstellung “Creative immigration in NL – Typical NL architecture by NO NL architects”. Im Rahmen der Ausstellung werden vier Porjekte von SMAQ und dazu entwickelte produkte gezeigt.

01/06/2005

Suburban Living Room

SMAQ Ausstellung / Suburban Living Room / Stuttgart

Die architekturgalerie am weissenhof in Stuttgart präsentiert SMAQs Installation “Suburban Living Room” und drei verwandte Projekte. Die Installation „Suburban Living Room“ ist Teil der Ausstellungsreihe „Architectures for the Infrastructural Leisure Landscape“ mit Arbeiten von SMAQ. SMAQ setzt sich in diesem Rahmen mit der Transformation der Kulturlandschaft auseinander, die mit gesellschaftlichen und technologischen Wandel zunehmend von [mehr]

Exhibition_Blauraum

SMAQ Ausstellung / Hamburg

Die Architekturgalerie salon blauraum in Hamburg präsentiert SMAQ in einer Einzelausstellung unter dem Titel “Architekturen für die infrastrukturelle Freizeitlandschaft“. SMAQ zeigt Architekturen, die durch die Verschränkung und Interaktion von Freizeit und Wohnen jenseits herkömmlicher Funktionszuschreibungen und Kriterien  das Potenzial der vorhandenen Landschaften nutzen und aktivieren.

01/04/2005